back ...
Desert locust
Migratory locust
Red locust
Tree locust
 
Senegalese grasshopper

Pest locusts

Nomadacris septemfasciata (Serville, 1838)

Family : Acrididae

Sub-family : Cyrtacanthacridinae

Common name : the Red locust

Nomadacris septemfasciata is a large locust found south of the Sahara in southern parts of Africa. Outbreak centres have been identified in Zambia, Tanzania, Malawi and also Madagascar and Reunion. In the Sahel, the species is observed on a more incidental basis in Cape Verde, the central Niger River delta in Mali and around Lake Chad.

This acridian is sometimes called "Criquet nomade" in French, due to its nomadic dry season movements. English name Red locust was given in reference to the colour of its hindwings. Nomadacris septemfasciata belongs to the Cyrtacanthacridinae family like other pests locust, e.g. Schistocerca gregaria (Forskål, 1775), Anacridium melanorhodon melanorhodon (Walker, 1870) and Ornithacris cavroisi (Finot, 1907) for which it is often mistaken.

Moisture is a crucial factor for the Red locust. It actively seeks moist environments in seasonal flood plains with large grassy lowlands and some tree cover of Acacia farnesiana or Mangifera indica to satisfy their semi-arboreal behaviour. It is generally graminivorous. Its biotopes are mixed herbaceous formations with Hyparrhenia, Echinochloa and Cyperus in the upper stratum and Cynodon in the lower stratum. In farming zones, it often colonizes mesohygrotrophic grain crops, especially when the fields are hedged in with bush and when waste and fallow lands are interlaced between the fields. The Red locust becomes sedentary when shelter, perches and food are available.

Nomadacris septemfasciata produces one generation a year, with an imaginal diapause period triggered by reduced daylength in the dry season. Sexual maturity and egg laying are achieved over quite a long period at the beginning of the rainy season, resulting in staggered hatching. Eggs incubate for about one month and hoppers need two months to complete their moulting. There are 6 to 8 instars depending on the sex and phasal state of the individual.

Emerging imagos remain immature until the following rainy season.

Gregarious capabilities are less pronounced in Red locust than in Desert locust and Migratory locust. Outbreak areas are reactivated during dry years in response to the reduced colonizable surface area available to this hygromesophilic acridian, thus increasing population densities to above the critical phase transformation threshold. In invasion years, swarms can be distributed over a few hectares and up to hundreds of square km. Red locusts fly quite slowly with the wind during daylight hours when air temperatures are above 26°C. They never move more than 20-30 km per day. Mature swarms then break up before egg laying, which often occurs at night with eggs being laid in moist sandy-clayey soil. Females congregate in limited areas and lay 70 to 90 eggs/pod. Hatched bands of young hoppers are then capable of travelling hundreds of metres daily in open areas. The imagos remain grouped thus binding the swarms.

Compared to solitarious forms, gregarious Red locusts do not live as long, they develop through 6 instars rather than 7 and sexual maturation takes a longer time. Gregarious females lay fewer eggs and less frequently but emerging hoppers are larger and heavier. Gregarious Red locusts have more markings than the solitarious forms.

Almost all of southern Africa was invaded during the last great widespread plague (1930-1944). Mesohygrotrophic crops cultivated in breeding biotopes were often attacked : corn, rice, sugarcane, fruit, wild herbaceous species and trees such as acacias, eucalyptus and pines. Ecological control was attempted in central Africa, involving environmental modification of outbreak centres but the project was unsuccessful. Chemical control is currently being used. Research should now be directed towards improving spraying techniques and selecting better acridicides.

The Red locust can be easily identified by its typical body colour. The overall colour is a mixture of light beige and brown. It is never green. There are seven clear transversal brown bands on the elytra (thus explaining its species name septemfasciata and its hindwings are red. There are two typical wide lateral brown bands on the pronotum.

Hoppers can also be recognized by their colouring but there is a broad range of phase-related colour differences. Solitary hoppers can be green or brown and gregarious hoppers are bright yellow with black markings.

General morphology

Size : males are 60-70 mm long, females are 60-85 mm long.

Overall body colour

This species is easily identified by its overall colour which is a mixture of light beige and brown. There is no green form. There are 7 clearly distinguishable transversal brown bands on the elytra.

There are 2 characteristic wide lateral brown bands on the pronotum. Gregarious locusts become yellowish as they mature sexually.

Solitary hoppers are an overall green or brown and they are solid brown, yellow or black in the gregarious phase.

Wing colour

Red. Hindwings are reddish.

Prosternal tubercle present

 
© Cirad 2007 • Nous contacter

retour ...
Criquet pèlerin
Criquet migrateur
Criquet nomade /
Criquet rouge
Criquet arboricole
 
Criquet sénégalais

Les criquets ravageurs

Nomadacris septemfasciata (Serville, 1838)

Famille : Acrididae

Sous-famille : Cyrtacanthacridinae

Noms communs : le Criquet nomade, le Criquet rouge

Nomadacris septemfasciata est un locuste de grande taille que l'on trouve au sud du Sahara, principalement en Afrique australe où ses foyers grégarigènes ont été localisés en Zambie, en Tanzanie, au Malawi mais aussi à Madagascar et dans l'île de la Réunion. Au Sahel, l'espèce est plus accessoirement rencontrée aux îles du Cap-Vert, dans le delta central du fleuve Niger au Mali et autour du lac Tchad.

Cet acridien est également appelé Criquet nomade à cause de ses déplacements en saison sèche ou Criquet rouge pour la couleur de ses ailes postérieures. Nomadacris septemfasciata appartient à la famille des Cyrtacanthacridinae comme d'autres ravageurs tels que Schistocerca gregaria (Forskål, 1775), Anacridium melanorhodon melanorhodon (Walker, 1870) ou Ornithacris cavroisi (Finot, 1907) avec qui il est souvent confondu.

Le Criquet nomade est très exigeant vis-à-vis du facteur hydrique. Il recherche activement les milieux humides, avec de grandes étendues herbeuses, dans les bas-fonds, les plaines saisonnièrement inondées, avec quelques ligneux comme Acacia farnesiana ou Mangifera indica pour satisfaire son tempérament semi-arboricole. Son régime alimentaire est à tendance graminivore. Ses biotopes sont des formations herbacées mixtes dont la strate supérieure est occupée par Hyparrhenia, Echinochloa et Cyperus ainsi que la strate inférieure par du Cynodon par exemple. Dans les zones cultivées, les cultures céréalières méso-hygrotrophes sont souvent colonisées surtout si les lisières sont embroussaillées et si des friches ou des jachères sont imbriquées entre les champs. L'acridien se sédentarise dans ces lieux où il trouve abri, perchoir et alimentation.

Nomadacris septemfasciata développe une génération par an, avec une diapause imaginale en saison sèche, diapause induite par la diminution de la durée du jour. La maturation sexuelle et les pontes ont lieu en début de saison des pluies durant une période assez longue ce qui amène à un certain échelonnement des éclosions. L'incubation des œufs dure un mois environ et les larves se développent en deux mois. Il y a entre 6 à 8 stades larvaires selon le sexe des individus et son état phasaire.

Les imagos émergeant resteront immatures jusqu'à la saison des pluies suivante.

La grégariaptitude du Criquet nomade est moins exacerbée que celle du Criquet pèlerin ou du Criquet migrateur. C'est durant les années sèches que les aires grégarigènes sont réactivées par suite de la réduction des surfaces colonisables pour cet acridien hygro-mésophile et par augmentation de la densation des populations jusqu'à atteindre le seuil critique de transformation phasaire. Pendant les années d'invasion, les essaims s'étendent sur quelques hectares à quelques centaines de km2. Les criquets volent le jour, si la température de l'air dépasse 26°C, dans le sens du vent et en mouvements assez lents. Les déplacements n'excèdent pas 20 à 30 km par jour. Les essaims matures se dispersent ensuite avant la ponte. Celle-ci a lieu souvent la nuit, dans un sol humide, sablo-argileux. Les femelles se regroupent sur des surfaces restreintes pour déposer 70 à 90 œufs/ponte. Les bandes de jeunes larves qui en seront issues peuvent progresser de plusieurs centaines de mètres par jour sur terrain découvert. Les imagos restent groupés ce qui augmente la cohésion de l'essaim.

Par rapport aux solitaires, les grégaires vivent moins longtemps, se développent en 6 au lieu de 7 stades larvaires et ont une maturation sexuelle plus longue. Les femelles pondent moins d'œufs et moins souvent mais les larves sont plus grosses et plus lourdes. Les grégaires sont plus fortement mélanisées que les solitaires.

À la dernière grande invasion généralisée, de 1930 à 1944, presque tout le sud du continent africain était concerné. Ce sont les cultures des biotopes de reproduction méso-hygrotrophes qui sont les plus souvent attaquées : maïs, riz, canne à sucre, arbres fruitiers ou des ligneux comme les acacias, les eucalyptus, les pins et les espèces herbacées sauvages. Des tentatives de lutte écologique ont été introduites en Afrique centrale mais sans succès, en essayant de modifier le contexte environnemental des foyers de grégarisation. Actuellement, la lutte est toujours de nature chimique. Ce sont des perfectionnements dans les techniques d'épandage et la sélection de produits acridicides qui peuvent raisonnablement apporter les meilleures garanties de progrès.

Le Criquet nomade possède une coloration générale typique qui permet de bien le reconnaître. La teinte générale est un mélange de beige clair et de brun. Il n'existe pas de forme verte. Les élytres sont ornées de sept bandes transversales brunes bien nettes d'où le nom de septemfasciata et les ailes postérieures sont rouges. Le pronotum possède deux larges bandes latérales brunes tout à fait caractéristiques.

Les larves peuvent être reconnues également à leur pigmentation. Il existe cependant une grande gamme de couleur en fonction de la phase de l'individu. Les solitaires peuvent être vertes ou brunes et les grégaires sont jaunes vif avec une maculature noire.

Morphologie générale

Taille : le mâle mesure de 60 à 70 mm de long, la femelle de 60 à 85 mm.

Coloration générale du corps

La coloration générale est constituée d'un mélange de beige clair et de brun qui permet de bien reconnaître l'espèce. La forme verte n'existe pas. Les élytres sont ornés de 7 bandes transversales brunes bien nettes.

Le pronotum possède 2 larges bandes latérales brunes tout à fait caractéristiques. À la maturation sexuelle, les grégaires prennent une teinte jaunâtre.

Les larves solitaires sont globalement vertes ou brunes et les grégaires uniformément marron, jaune et noir.

Coloration des ailes

Rouges. Les ailes postérieures sont rougeâtres.

Présence d'un tubercule prosternal

 
© Cirad 2007 • Nous contacter